Raptor Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just recently got a 01 raptor 660. I got a really good deal on it and I couldnt pass it up. Ive only riden it twice and I havent had any problems at all. Basically, before I take it out this sunday for a good ride! I need some help. Im a total newb to this stuff and I want to totally take care of this thing. What should I do first?? I mean, what are the typical tune ups for a 660?? Especially when you dont know the maintenance history of the bike. I checked the levels of the coolant and the oil, they were low, so I know to change them. Also, that brings up another thing that I noticed when I rode it for the first time. I was cruisin' in third gear and the light on the lower left came on, it looks like a temp or oil gauge, not sure which one it is. I never got to 4th or 5th on it cuz the area I was riding was small and I was just playing around. But, it seemed like everytime I started to go fast in third, that light would come on and then when I slowed down, it would turn off. Do you guys think there is a problem?? Im just asking for some guidance before I take it out this sun!! thanks guys, I really appreciate any and all help. mucho gracias!!!

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
oh yeah! I also wanted to know about washing it! Is it alright just to spray the thing down and give it basically a bath. I bought it really dirty. Also, the owner said something about keepin the the chain oiled and grease the bushings on the a-arms. Is there a special kind of grease for that and oil for the chain?? One last question, is it ok to spray some lube or something on the shock that is under the seat? cuz the owner was a pretty big guy and everytime i sit on the bike it squeeks pretty bad! its quite annoying.

thanks again!!

·
Registered
2,615 Posts