Raptor Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

first thing I want to say: This is an awesome forum. Really nice how ppl help over here.

But ok, I would like to do the 'casual checkups' on my rappy myself. Because at least you know
it's done right ;)

Valve adjustment is one of them. I have to say I'm a complete beginner at that and I don't understand it completely.
I searched for posts about the valves and I downloaded the manual. But my English aint THAT good :help:to understand it all.

Gonna explain it using the manual:
http://i18.tinypic.com/49hzszk.jpg -> this is all clear :grin_nod:
http://i10.tinypic.com/343okfp.jpg
-The first question mark: What's up with the mm's ?
is that the 'tolerance' (dno of this is a good word, srry) ?
-second question mark: I think I just undertood this picture lol :lol:so its ok
http://i10.tinypic.com/4fuulj5.jpg -> everything ok

So The only thing I actually have to know is what size of thickness gauge I have to use for measuring the clearance.
What mm's :3question: I think it's something with the box I don't understand ?

thanks for reading

·
Registered
16 Posts
"The numbers in the box" is the tolerance for the valves. The gap for the intake valves should be somewhere between 0,09mm and 0,13mm. The gap for the exhaust valve should be somewhere between 0,16mm and 0,20mm.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
ok, thanks ;)

So if take a feeler gauge 0.10mm for the intake en I make sure that 'fits' nicely, then the valves are kinda perfect ?

(and a 0.18 for the exhaust lets say)

·
Registered
429 Posts
You may want to get the factory manual. It has all the tolerences plus the cyl index position information. The manual is stated both inch and metric.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Dfeat said:
ok, thanks ;)

So if take a feeler gauge 0.10mm for the intake en I make sure that 'fits' nicely, then the valves are kinda perfect ?

(and a 0.18 for the exhaust lets say)
Correct ;)

·