Raptor Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
4,139 Posts
im just learning how to weld and i assume youve never welded before? do yourself a favor and take it to someone that knows what theyre doing. i wouldnt dare weld on my bike

·
Premium Member
3,166 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
well I have a busted frame the I had to cut in half the get the swingarm off. I was going to practise by welding it a little bit. just to get the temperature and speed right....I just don't want to melt through the frame

·
Registered
4,139 Posts
the thinnest ive welded on was 1/8" ange with a arc welder and it was kinda tough. i dont know anything about the frames as to their alloy but i would assume theyre thin and would be easy to blow right through. but then again ive never tig or mig welded...

·
Premium Member
578 Posts
If i did it i would use a mig welder. Just make sure your metal is real clean of paint and dirt. I would think it would weld just fine. On the other hand if you dont weld much its not a bad idea to have some help. No shame in wanting it to turn out nice and strong. =)

·
Master of the Electron
15,680 Posts
Your quad's frame is NOT the place for learning to weld... someone who is expert in the field will charge you next to nothing to do it and you'll have exquisite, proper, strong welds that won't let go under heavy riding (NOT something you want to happen).

Learn elsewhere, then when you DO make decent welds (after 20 - 40 hours of practice) you can do the next frame welding yourself. I am ok at MIG welding, after modifying a couple of trailers, but I think I'd still have an expert do my frame - my welds just aren't pretty enough and I'd worry about their strength.

·
I am unique
22,621 Posts
For the best welds possible, use a TIG welder, you can control the heat, penetration ,strength and weld appearance will be just awesome, AS LONG as you know what you are doing............

·
Premium Member
3,166 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·