Raptor Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
255 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok so i have a stock raptor 700. but i'm putting together parts list for a build. I'm just wanting a good reliable running machine. it will see some dirt trails along with some sand and a little hillshooting.

I know what a big bore is and i know that is a option but also somebody said something about a stock bore build?

So what is a stock bore build?

Is it higher compression on a stock sleeve?

Or is it a different stroke on a stock bore size?

thanks for a information. I'm new to modding quad's. im not trying to out run everything out there. i just want something that is going to run good and RELIABLE is the most important thing to me.

this will just be a weekend toy. i weight about 165lbs so i dont need a monster motor build.

·
Super Moderator
17,061 Posts
OEM bore (102mm) and stock stroke (usually stock crankshaft) leaving stock displacement (686cc).

You throw in a high compression piston, some port work and a camshaft and that's the basis for a "stock bore build". The gist is that you do the work you'd normally do without increasing displacement.

A budget might help others discern how extreme you should or shouldn't get with this build, and assist them with making suggestions.

·
Registered
1,064 Posts
stock bore size is 102mm u can go from anything from 105mm 105.5 up to 108mm i believe.

and for the most part its just staying with the stock bore 102mm.

as you read threads youll see this saying from time to time

Cheap, Fast, Reliable. U can only pick two.

most common are the big 3 Intake,Exhaust, Programmer. but u really dont wake it up untill u add the cam and piston.

If its just trail riding and not alot of racing i would just do the big 5.

·
Registered
1,064 Posts
if that is your quad in your sig then i would definatly get rid of the rear tires! they suck so bad. You wont know what im saying untill u replace them.

·
Registered
255 Posts