Raptor Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
357 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all.

This is my first post on this forum and i need some help.

I am looking at buying a yamaha quad and was torn between the top three.

1. Raptor 700 SE
2. YFZ 450
3. Raptor 350

I am just getting into atving and i will be riding with my friend that races. I don't need all the power in the world but im the kinda guy that wants more power but will never need it. I am really torn. I will be riding the track and trails so mostly everything. I am 6'4' and 225 lbs. If you need to know more please ask me

Thanks

Zach

·
Registered
200 Posts
Your choices are excellent accept for the Rappy 350 (unless your going to slap a blade on it and cut your grass)............ :grin_nod:
Seriously, don't waist your money on a 350. If you wanna go small/cheap/entry level go at least a Honda 400EX.
The other two might be a handful if your not use to an atv. If your willing to take it easy and get use to it, a Rappy 700 would be easier on you than the YFZ.

·
Registered
357 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
So your saying the Raptor 700 se will be better on me that the yfz 450?

How do both of these do in the sand?

-Zach

·
Registered
19 Posts
i ride in a bit of all the types of riding. from the rubicon to the sand. one of my cousins has the yfz 450 and has to screw with the jeting and carb all the time to make it run right. the EFI in the rappy is the only way to go. if u dont need to much power then leave it stock and u will be satisfide. go with the 700. :thumbsup:

·
Registered
1,314 Posts
Stay away from the 350.
Ergonomically the 700 won hands-down for me. I rode both and the 450 felt cramped; I'm the same height as you are.
The 700s have an incredible amount of power - which is actually good for a beginner because it straightens the learning curve a bit. You'll be less likely to get stuck climbing a hill because you were in the wrong gear.